new header

home about music video shows facebook store press contact Image Map

about the band

Murder Therapy was born in October 2007 when Francesco D'Adamo answered the call of Riccardo and Simone with the intention of creating a new death metal project. After some months of rehearsals Andrea Cavalieri joined the band filling in for drums and the band started working hard on songwriting and playing its first gigs in Bologna. This brought the band to record the EP “The Therapy”, which was recorded in June 2008, resulting in a very personal mix of death metal, blending sounds and atmospheres of american bands with twisted, irregular/modern patterns. The response for "The Therapy" was extremely positive both from Italian and foreign magazines, and was posted as Top Demo on Metalitalia and Noizemag. In December 2008 Murder Therapy signed a deal with Deity Down Records for the release of their debut album, which would be sometime in 2009.

In March 2009 Andrea Cavalieri leaves the band and both Marco Bolognini and Sean Worrell join Murder Therapy as drummer and second guitar. With this new line-up the band finished the songwriting process and entered 16th Cellar Studio in Rome, Italy to begin recording their full-length debut, "Symmetry Of Delirium", to be released in September 2009 via Deity Down Records. The CD artwork was been designed by Alex Eckman-Lawn. After the release of the album Marcello Tavernari joins the band as new bass player. “Symmetry of Delirium” receives enthusiastic response from both italian and foreign press, and was praised as top album of the month on Metalitalia, Metalnews, Metalobserver, Rockhard Italia and many others. The band has had an intense live activity, participating in a mini-tour with label-mates Vermin (NL) in Holland, playing at Neurotic Deathfest in Tilburg (NL) with bands such as Carcass, Immolation, Six Feet Under, Napalm Death, Bolt Thrower, Origin and many others. In Italy the band has played shows with international acts such as Cynic (USA), Decapitated (PL), The Ocean (GER), Intronaut (USA), Ulcerate (NZ), Svart Crown (FR), Red Fang (USA), Jucifer (USA). The band also produces an official videoclip for the song “The Scourge” and never interrupts the writing process of new songs, which are already played live during the course of the year. The new material presents a more mature and articulate songwriting that pushes the band towards even more dissonant and experimental atmospheres, with longer songs and a use of sounds and patterns that, although have their roots in metal, explore ways that are very different from the ones proposed on their debut album.

During 2010 the writing process of the follow up to “Symmetry of Delirium” is completed, and the band separates from their singer Riccardo Meschiari and bassplayer Marcello Tavernari.

Andrea Burgio (also in the math-rock band Miotic) joins the band on Septermber 2010 as new bassplayer and Sean Worrell starts to handle vocals too, and with this line-up the band records a promo with two new tracks, “Resilience” and “Drawn Back”.
In the meantime the band recorded an EP in 2011, "Molochian", which is to be seen as a stepping stone to fill the gap between the band's debut album and future releases.
The band entered the studio in the summer of 2011 to record their 2nd full lenght album and now is looking for a label for a release in 2012.

Sean Worrell - vocals, guitars (2009 - present)
Francesco D'Adamo - guitars (2007 - present)
Andrea Burgio - bass (2010 - present)
Marco Bolognini - drums (2009 - present)

Past members:
Riccardo Meschiari - vocals (2007-2010)
Marcello Tavernari - bass (2009-2010)
Simone Esperti - bass (2007-2009)
Andrea Cavalieri - drums (2008-2009)